Jump to Winery List

Margaret River Wine Region

The Margaret River Wine Region includes the entire South West corner of Western Australia, west of Busselton. The region consists of a strip of coastal land and inland ridge lands that is about 27km wide and has an elevation of about 40m ( maximum 90 m). The region running along the coast from Cape Leeuwin to Cape Naturaliste has more than 80 delightful wineries. The region enjoys a mild Mediterranean climate, rich soils, a setting of majestic forests, clear streams and gentle landscapes creating wonderful conditions growing grapes and producing magnificent wines. The first vineyards in Margaret River were planted in 1967 and since then Margaret River has developed an international reputation. The major grape varieties are Cabernet, Merlot, Semillon and Sauvignon Blanc and Chardonnay. The climate is strongly influenced by the proximity to the ocean. It has an annual diurnal temperature range of only 7.6 degrees C. and this low range leads to a steady accumulation of warmth during the growing season. Spring frosts are extremely rare. The heat degree-days are about 1690. The region has recently become famous for its fruity, dry whites, and Cabernet Sauvignon. The reputation of the region for Shiraz was born when Evans and Tate won the 'best red in the world' at the 2000 London International Wine Challenge.

The Margaret River Wine Region includes nineteen districts: Dunsburough ; Busselton ; Yallingup West ; Yallingup East ; Abbeys ; Metricup West ; Wilyabrup ; Caves Road West ; Carbunup River ; Metricup East ; Harmans ; Cowaramup West ; Ellensbrook ; Cowaramup East ; Central East ; Central West ; Forest Grove ; Karridale; Augusta

Local Climate. Source: Original Image
Margaret River Region Wineries. Source: Google Maps - Map data ©2019 Google

Search for a Winery

No Match for Your Search