Jump to Winery List

Truro Wine District

The Truro Wine District includes wineries near the township of Truro located on the Northern edge of the Barossa Valley Region, about 20 km East of Nuriootpa. Truro is a small town in South Australia, located about 80 km northeast of Adelaide, on the Sturt Highway east of the Barossa Valley near where the highway crosses the ridge of the Mount Lofty Ranges. Truro is the gateway to the Barossa Valley from the north-east. Truro also has much to offer lovers of olives, being the home of the Barossa Olives Shop. See the Sturt Memorial Cairn, which was one of several erected in 1944 to mark the route of Captain Charles Sturt`s famous expedition to Central Australia.

The Barossa Valley Wine Region includes sixteen districts : Marananga ; West Nuriootpa ; East Nuriootpa ; Dorrien ; Tanunda ; Vine Vale ; Bethany ; Rowland ; Lyndoch North ; Lyndoch South ; Williamstown ; Gawler ; Koonunga ; Truro ; Angaston ; Light Pass

Local Climate. Source: Original Image

Winery Tour Map



Craneford Wines, SA  27-31 Moorundie Street, Truro SA 5356
Established in Springton in 1978, Craneford Wines was relocated to its current home in Truro in 1998. It has grown to be a self‐sufficient wine production facility. Wines are made from start to finish on site. This gives us quality control of the wine at all times. In mid 2006, Carol Riebke was appointed as winemaker with John Glaetzer overseeing. John is a winner of four Jimmy Watson Trophy's during his extensive career as chief red wine maker at Wolf Blass Wines. As a team, Carol and John ensure that premium quality wine making remains the focus at Craneford Wines.